The ballet’s name directly evokes sunflowers which always keep their heads turned toward the sun, and bloom in the heat of summer. The four ladies of the ballet are friends of long acquaintanceship having known each other for almost as long as they can remember and every summer they seem to have been brought together at this particular bit of countryside, for here they regathered in what seems to be the corner of a hayfield with an old weather-beaten log fence separating it from the country lane in the background and down which the two men have strolled onto the scene. They are also old acquaintances and have wandered by wondering if the girls are still around.



Title of the music: String Quartet #1

Composer: Leos Janacek.

Running time: 23 Minutes

Number of dancers: 4 Women, 2 Men


Contact Amanda McKerrow with any licensing questions.